Next »

Recent Blogs

Monday, March 24th, 2008

Who am I?

Brian Hamrick, age 31, husband to Katherine for nearly 9 years, father of 2 boys (3 1/2 and 6 mos.), evangelical pastor, living in small town South Florida, native of Richmond, Virginia, cousin to Dave.

Let me meet some of the other Humzooers, (or is it Humzooians?) if you would, drop me a comment or two.


Tags:  introduction, new
24 Comments
nikideaton
Welcome to Humzoo! You are going to love it.
niki   Monday, March 24, 2008
girlcarew
Hi! I'm Christi. I've got two boys with about the same age difference, although they are almost 3 and 6. Nice to see you.
girlcarew   Monday, March 24, 2008
dennydeaton
Welcome to Humzoo Brian! Sorry to hear you are related to Dave. :)
Denny Deaton   Monday, March 24, 2008
nheinzel
Hi my sweet, wonderful Brian!! Glad you made it to Humzoo!!! You could write some great blogs!!
!   Monday, March 24, 2008
Hi Niki- glad to meet you- yeah, I'm pretty excited about using Humzoo.

Hi Christi- glad to meet you also. I love having two boys, and can't wait until they're a little older so they can interact more together. I'm sure you have a lot of fun with them (no diapers?).

Hi Denny- I have no trouble claiming relation to Dave publicly, at least at this time :)

Hi !- I know who you are! Thanks for setting the bar so high. I feel like I might suffocate under such pressure!
Brian   Monday, March 24, 2008
photos to come later this week. Let's meet some more Humzoozians!
Brian   Monday, March 24, 2008
spike
Hi Brian! I hope you and your family are well! Looking forward to the pictures!
Spike   Monday, March 24, 2008
nheinzel
Yes, we need pictures!!!!
!   Monday, March 24, 2008
_DELETED_cdcgull
YES!! Pictures!! This Nana can never get enough pictures of her most precious grandsons!!! Hi Brian!! How is Nathan today??
cdcgull   Monday, March 24, 2008
_DELETED_rangywulf
Hi Brian, I'm a single mother of a nearly 3yr old boy who thinks that he is Spiderman. Welcome to humzoo!
rangywulf   Monday, March 24, 2008
igna83
Hello Brian! You're right where my family wants to be someday--FLORIDA!! I could use an ocean right about now...

Welcome to Humzoo!
Angi   Monday, March 24, 2008
girlcarew
We are not diaper-free yet. Jonas turns 3 in about 3 weeks. I'm guessing it could be another 6 months, but probably not longer than that. I am looking forward to it. They have their fighting moments, but they get along too. Right now, the biggest issue is that Jonas wants to do *everything* Gareth does as soon as Gareth does it, regardless of whether Gareth is done. But, I love having boys. It's def. a different style of parenting and life that having a mix or having all girls. Not bad, just different.
girlcarew   Monday, March 24, 2008
BrianHamrick
Hey Spike- the oldest boy is sick, but some antibiotics retrieved this morning are turning things around.

Hi cdcgull- have we met? You also have set the standard super-high, saying you cannot be satisfied with your photo consumption. Does this issue run in the family?

Hi rangy- My oldest (Nathan) loves Spiderman too. He sometimes thinks he is Larryboy (a pickle superhero). Spiderman > Larryboy, IMHO.

Hi Angi- Florida is a neat place. I can recommend places to skip altogether (Pahokee, Miami). There are tons of neat little places to live. Save your pennies- it's an expensive place to live!
Brian   Monday, March 24, 2008
BrianHamrick
Christi- Nathan reached the 95% potty-training threshold around 3 years, 5 months. He still has an accident about every 2 or 3 days (and much more frequently when sick). I wouldn't know what to do with girls. I'm sure that pattern with Jonas and Gareth is probably something you'll observe to some degree for quite some time, until Jonas accepts that he is younger and that means something distinct.
Brian   Monday, March 24, 2008
girlcarew
Yeah, I know Jonas is well within "normal" potty training age, so I am not worried. But Gareth was about 98% trained when he turned 3. So at least I never had 2 in dipes. And so, although Jonas is not "slow" in terms of normal, he's slower than Gareth. It's definitely hard not compare with some things. But at the same time it is fascinating to see how different they are.
girlcarew   Monday, March 24, 2008
dazedpink
Hi Brian! Welcome to humzoo!

I'm Jules, mommy of an almost 3 year old girl named Lilly. I was born and raised in Michigan but live just north of Chicago now.
Jules   Monday, March 24, 2008
_DELETED_carriepassante
HI Brian... my brother's name is Brian so I think you may be one of my favorite Humzoo'ers already!

I was born in Cleveland, lived in Arizona for a few years but have spent the majority of my life in Milwaukee. My daughter will be 3 next month and I'm due in July with a little boy (or so they say).

Welcome!
Carrie   Monday, March 24, 2008
BrianHamrick
Hi Jules, and Carrie- thanks for stopping by- what's up with the parents of 3-year olds theme I see running on this site?
Brian   Monday, March 24, 2008
dazedpink
Brian, we've got a separate mommas group which is how a lot of us met Courtney (and Dave). Christi, Carrie, Jess (Rangywulf) and I are all "members"...we met through an expecting club as we were all due in April 2005. Best group of mommy's I've ever met!
Jules   Monday, March 24, 2008
stevenheinzel
Hi Brian... this be your uncle saying "hi" and welcome to Humzoo. Your cousin and Denny have put something together here that is turning into something special: good way to communicate with friends/relatives, good place to say what's on your mind, great place to put photos so everyone can keep tabl on the growth of Luke and Nathan (not to mention news of Katherine and Brian), and a great place to meet new people. Welcome.
stheinz   Monday, March 24, 2008
billpearch
I'm a long-suffering Cubs fans from the western suburbs of Chicago.
Bill Pearch   Monday, March 24, 2008
stevenheinzel
Go Cubs!!!!!
stheinz   Monday, March 24, 2008
Hi, Brian! I'm Casey, and I used to work with Dave. I am a senior at the University of Illinois in Champaign, but am originally from Springfield. Happy Humzoo Day to you!
Casey   Monday, March 24, 2008
BrianHamrick
Thanks everyone for the welcome. Hope you'll check back from time to time.
Brian   Tuesday, March 25, 2008
Leave a Comment


Your Name
Publish Comment