Tuesday, January 10th, 2012

Baseball Hall of Fame: Class of 2012

This summer, only two former players will be inducted into the Baseball Hall of Fame in Cooperstown, New York. One was a shortstop. One was a third baseman. One was elected by the Baseball Writers' Association of America (BWAA). One was elected by the Golden Era Committee.

Those two players are Barry Larkin and the late Ron Santo.

On Monday, the announcement was made that former shortstop Barry Larkin received 495 votes (86.4%) and was the only player out of 27 eligible selected by the BWAA. Larkin received the honor during his third year of eligibility. Larkin spent his entire 19-year career with the Cincinnati Reds. He was a member of the 1990 World Series championship team, and the 1995 National League Central championship team. He ended his career with a .295 batting average, 198 home runs, and 960 runs batted in.

The Golden Era Committee selected former Chicago Cubs third baseman, Ron Santo. Santo played 15 season in the majors primarily as the third baseman for the Cubs. He played his final season as a member of the Chicago White Sox. Santo never played in a postseason game, but he ended his career with a .277 batting average; 342 home runs; and 1,331 runs batted in.

Do you think they deserve induction? Here are their stats: Larkin | Santo

The 2012 Baseball Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony is scheduled for Sunday, July 22.

Leave a Comment

Your Name
Publish Comment